Code of Ethics

The Five Precepts (The Five Mindfulness Trainings)

  1. To refrain from taking life (Reverence for Life)
  2. To refrain from taking that which is not freely given (True Happiness)
  3. To refrain from sexual misconduct (True Love)
  4. To refrain from unwise/unskillful speech (Loving Speech and Deep Listening)
  5. To refrain from intoxication (Nourishment and Healing)

“The Five Mindfulness Trainings are one of the most concrete ways to practice mindfulness. They are nonsectarian, and their nature is universal. They are true practices of compassion and understanding. All spiritual traditions have their equivalent to the Five Mindfulness Trainings.

The first training is to protect life, to decrease violence in oneself, in the family and in society. The second training is to practice social justice, generosity, not stealing and not exploiting other living beings. The third is the practice of responsible sexual behavior in order to protect individuals, couples, families and children. The fourth is the practice of deep listening and loving speech to restore communication and reconcile. The fifth is about mindful consumption, to help us not bring toxins and poisons into our body or mind.

The Five Mindfulness Trainings are based on the precepts developed during the time of the Buddha to be the foundation of practice for the entire lay practice community. I have translated these precepts for modern times, because mindfulness is at the foundation of each one of them. With mindfulness, we are aware of what is going on in our bodies, our feelings, our minds and the world, and we avoid doing harm to ourselves and others. Mindfulness protects us, our families and our society. When we are mindful, we can see that by refraining from doing one thing, we can prevent another thing from happening. We arrive at our own unique insight. It is not something imposed on us by an outside authority.

Practicing the mindfulness trainings, therefore, helps us be more calm and concentrated, and brings more insight and enlightenment.”

-Thich Nhat Hanh, Happiness: Essential Mindfulness Practices (2009)

~For expanded explanation on the Five Mindfulness Trainings, as well as information on the Fourteen Mindfulness Trainings (Order of Interbeing), see “The Path of Happiness” from Magnolia Grove Monastery.

~Additionally, in a similar spirit, here are “Trainings of the Mind in Diversity” by Larry Yang.